Agate Books: Children's Book ReviewsHome | Help
 children's booksbaby bookstoddler bookspreschool bookskindergarten books and beginning readerssecond grade books and third grade booksfourth grade to middle school booksyoung adult literaturechildren's authors & illustrators

Eragon (Inheritance Trilogy, Book 1)

  Author(s) & Illustrator(s): Christopher Paolini

  Edition: Paperback -- Plot Summary and Book Review

Eragon (Paperback)    

  • Eragon by teen author Christopher Paolini, the first book in the Inheritance Trilogy, tells an engaging tale of dragons, magic and adventure. The main character of this best selling fantasy book is Eragon, a 15-year-old farm boy in Alagaesia. When hunting in the Spine, a mountain range near his home village Carvahall, Eragon finds a blue stone that happens to be a dragon egg. After the egg hatches, Eragon raises the dragon secretly and names her Saphira. The evil Ra'zac sent by the King Galbatorix kills Eragon's uncle and destroys his home. Accompanied by old storyteller Brom, Eragon and his dragon sets out on a treacherous journey full of twists and turns. Toward the end of the story, Eragon the Dragon Rider, his newly made friend Murtagh, and Saphira arrive at Tronjheim, where the rebel force called the Varden is located. A big battle is fought in which Eragon helps defeat the enemies sent by the king. Likable protagonists and an interesting plot make it an entertaining book for both young adults and adults to read.
  • Reading Level: young adult
  • Paperback, 528 pages
  • ISBN: 0375826696
  • Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Genre: Fiction - Fantasy Books

Related Books: