Agate Books: Children's Book ReviewsHome | Help
 children's booksbaby bookstoddler bookspreschool bookskindergarten books and beginning readerssecond grade books and third grade booksfourth grade to middle school booksyoung adult literaturechildren's authors & illustrators

Hardcover Books

  The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles (Hardcover) 

The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles (Julie Andrews Collection)

Julie Andrews Edwards (Hardcover)

Genre: Fiction - Fantasy Books

In "The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles", author Julie Edwards tells a spellbinding story that takes children to magic Whangdoodleland. The Whangdoodles are almost forgotten by people, although Professor Savant believes they still exist. He and three Potter children, Lindy, Tom, and Ben, overcome many obstacles, including those set up by the Prock, Prime Minister of Whangdoodleland. They finally meet the last of the really great Whangdoodles, the king of Whangdoodleland. Along the way, they encounter many colorful characters such as the Whiffle Bird, the Swamp Gaboons and the High-Behind Splintercat. "The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles" is one of our favorite fantasy books. It is a great chapter book to read aloud.

  Harold and the Purple Crayon (Hardcover) 

Harold and the Purple Crayon

Crockett Johnson (Hardcover)

Genre: Fiction - Children's Picture Books

"Harold and the Purple Crayon" by Crockett Johnson is one of the best picture books for children. Harold draws a magical world with his purple crayon and has many imaginative adventures. Finally, Harold's purple crayon takes him back to his own bed. Author Crockett Johnson has created an enduring classic picture book for preschoolers, kindergarteners and beginning readers. "Harold and the Purple Crayon" is a great bedtime story.

  Skylark (Hardcover) 


Patricia MacLachlan (Hardcover)

Genre: Fiction - Historical Fiction; Book Themes: Family, Frontier and Pioneer Life

"Skylark" is a sequel to "Sarah Plain and Tall" by Patricia MacLachlan. Sarah is like a skylark and has not entirely settled down to the pioneer life. When there is a severe drought on the prairie, Sarah and the children go back to Maine to live with her aunts, while Jacob stays behind to take care of their farm. Will the family be united again? The story "Skylark" appeals to children in third grade through sixth grade.

  Walk Two Moons (Hardcover) 

Walk Two Moons

Sharon Creech (Hardcover)

Genre: Fiction - Realistic Fiction; Book Themes: Family, Emotions and Feelings

"Walk Two Moons" by Sharon Creech is a moving realistic fiction story for young adults. Sharon Creech's Newbery Medal award winner tells a story within a story that deals with themes of love, loss and family. The main character, 13-year-old Salamanca Tree Hiddle, travels from Euclid, Ohio to Lewiston, Idaho with her eccentric grandparents to visit her missing mother. Along the way, Sal tells them the story of her friend, Phoebe Winterbottom. Phoebe is a girl of wild imagination. She finds mysterious messages such as "Don't judge a man until you've walked two moons in his moccasins" on her family's doorsteps. Phoebe's mother leaves her family unexpectedly but eventually returns; Sal has to deal with painful life changes and come to terms with her own loss. The characters in "Walk Two Moons" are interesting and well developed, from the protagonist with her complex emotions and feelings to the wacky and loving grandparents. "Walk Two Moons" is a good book for teens in 8th grade and up.

  The Carrot Seed (Hardcover) 

The Carrot Seed

Ruth Krauss, Crockett Johnson (Hardcover)

Genre: Fiction - Children's Picture Books

In "The Carrot Seed", a little boy plants a carrot seed and carefully tends to it, despite all the naysayers. He is eventually rewarded with a very big carrot for his faith and perseverance. Ruth Krauss' texts are simple and engaging. Crockett Johnson's illustrations are simple and charming. Together, they created a classic children's book. Toddlers and preschoolers will enjoy this great picture book.

  The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Hardcover) 

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia Series, Book 2)

C.S. Lewis, Pauline Baynes (Hardcover)

Genre: Fiction - Fantasy Books

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis, the first book published in the Chronicles of Narnia series (although number two of the series in chronological order), is one of the best children's books of the 20th century. This classic fantasy book tells a captivating story of four Pevensie children, Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy, who enter the magic land of Narnia through a wardrobe in an old English house. It is Lucy who first looks inside a wardrobe and discovers the magical world of Narnia. She befriends a faun named Mr Tumnus who tells her that the land of Narnia is being ruled by the evil White Witch Jadis. The witch has cursed Narnia so it is always winter but never Christmas. Then Lucy's siblings also venture into the land of Narnia. They meet talking animals like Mr. and Mrs. Beaver and help the Great Lion Aslan free Narnia from the witch's reign. Unfortunately, Edmund is seduced by the White Witch's false promises and betrays his siblings. The Great Lion sacrifices himself in order to save Edmund. The wicked witch is ultimately defeated and the four children become kings and queens of Narnia. This classic tale is filled with fantastic characters, exciting adventures and battles between good and evil. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe is a great chapter book for children in 4th grade through 7th grade.

  The Horse and His Boy (Hardcover) 

The Horse and His Boy (Chronicles of Narnia Series, Book 3)

C.S. Lewis, Pauline Baynes (Hardcover)

Genre: Fiction - Fantasy Books

The Horse and His Boy by C. S. Lewis, the third story in the Chronicles of Narnia Series, is a great classic children's book with complex and likable characters. The fantasy novel is set in the time when Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy are kings and queens of Narnia. Shasta, a boy living in the land of Calormen, discovers that his master is selling him to a Tarkaan, a noble from the south. The boy meets Bree, a talking horse of Narnia who was captured when he was a young colt. Together, they decide to flee to Narnia. On their long journey, the boy and his horse have many adventures and are joined by a brave aristocratic girl named Aravis and her talking horse called Hwin. Squabbling among themselves, the two kids and two horses venture through Calormen's capital city Tashbaan, cross a desert, and uncover the Calormen ruler Tisroc and Prince Rabadash's plot to invade Narnia and neighboring Archenland. The Horse and His Boy is a good chapter book for children in 4th grade through 7th grade.

  Frog and Toad Are Friends (Hardcover) 

Frog and Toad Are Friends (I Can Read Book Series: Level 2)

Arnold Lobel (Hardcover)

Genre: Fiction - Picture Story Books; Book Themes: Animals, Friendship

"Frog and Toad Are Friends" by Arnold Lobel is a great book for beginning readers. The friendship between Frog and Toad is depicted vividly in five short chapter stories that are funny, engaging and easy to read. "Frog and Toad Are Friends", a Caldecott Award winner, is one of the best classic picture story books.

9-16 of 144 books     < Previous  |  Next >